I Am Not A Protege

Posted on Updated on

There is only one word I can think of to describe how I am feeling today, PUMPED. I am excited for the event I am attending tonight called Protege. Because Thre.ad shares the office with an event planning company, we are required to go and spot style. “Required.” As if I do not want to go. Yeah right. What is better than being social, dancing and SPOTTING?! 🙂 I had a lot to do this morning at work. Today was my day for social media. I also wrote a blog today, check it out. The past two posts are mine. I am finally getting the hang of this whole blog voice thing. The afternoon was pretty low key. I helped Bree brainstorm ideas for a “Do It Yourself” project and Lara with gamification descriptions for 2012 fall trends. We also had a meeting to go over the new version of Thre.ad 2.0. The changes look great. If you have not already, go to Thre.ad and create an account. After work, I picked up a LBD (Little Black Dress) for tonight’s event. $20 steal. I quickly took the subway back to EHS to get changed and left within 40 minutes. Phew, I was in a rush!  I got to the event around 8 p.m. and stood outside until Kristin and Bree got there. Sadly, there was not a lot of street style to spot. Come on, New Yorkers. Where’s ya style at? With two huge X’s on my hands, I went inside the club and started mingling. It was an intern social networking event, so it was neat to talk to people who work for all kinds of different companies. Bree was my wingman for the night. We met a few people who we thought were SPOT worthy. We spotted two girls who go to school at NYU and who are pursuing acting and music careers. FIY, potential actresses like to talk about themselves way too much. We also met two, cute sisters from Utah. One was married and works for an interior design company.  The other was a sophomore in college. We also met two ladies who have a company that is pretty much like Thre.ad. Their app was not as innovative and cool as ours though. Bree and I enjoyed watching people dance and make fools of themselves. By 11 p.m. we were ready to head out. Bree + I = NOT your average club entertainment. We stayed and watched the event’s big hoorah. Glow sticks emerged the crowd and “aliens” invaded the club. It was SICK! We ended up leaving around 11:30 p.m. I waited about 30 minutes for the subway to come, which was dreadful. My feet were killing me in my heels and all I wanted was to sit down. The subway finally came. Some trains do not run late at night, so I had to transfer once. My roommates were already in bed when I got home. So I snuck in quietly, and did the same.

Leave a Reply

