The First Night Out

Posted on Updated on

My alarm went off this morning and I did not want to get out of bed. The only thing that inspired me was the fact it was Friday. I wore neon yellow/green pants, a royal blue top, four inch heels and coral lip stick to work. The vibrant colors of my outfit helped give me a little pep in my step. On my way to work, a nice lady kept complimenting and commenting on my outfit in the subway. A super nice lady, but she kept going on and on. With a vanilla latte in hand, I was once again early to work. Kristin was running a little bit late, so I just waited outside the office doors until she got there. Kristin had three lunch meetings today and Mimi left for Utah early this morning to meet with investors, so I was in the office by myself pretty much all day. Therefore, I had a pretty laid back day. I learned how to put our logo on our pictures with photoshop, researched and scheduled more NYC events, maintained Thre.ad’s social media networks and brainstormed ideas for social events for Thre.ad. I also ran an errand to Staples to pick up more ink for our printer, which was an experience in itself. Staples was about 1.5 miles away from my work, so I thought it would be a good idea to walk. And let’s not forget about the shoes I wore today. My heels were definitely made for walking! I have actually begun to enjoy walking the streets of NY. I always get a good laugh at the comments and remarks I hear from the people on the streets. To tell you the truth, it is nice to get those compliments, even if they are from creepy, street vendors. Ha! I picked up a smoothie on my way back to work. Kristin came back around 4 p.m. and then we headed to an exhibition called “The Little Black Jacket” around 5 p.m. It is a world traveling exhibition featuring more than 100 striking black-and-white photographs of various actors, actresses and models in Chanel’s iconic black, tweed jacket. It was such an interesting event. Kristin and I tried to pick our favorite photograph, but it was so hard. They were all unique and fun. We left the exhibition with two of our own “Little Black Jacket” posters, rolled up in a plastic, Chanel bag. PRICELESS. I headed home to both of my lovely roommates: Jessica, who has been sick in bed all day and Jordan, who was ready to grab some dinner. So, Jordan and I went to an Italian place in Brooklyn called Noodle Pudding. It was another restaurant whose menu was too fancy to understand, so I closed my eyes and chose a dish and ordered. We had a nice dinner date and then came back to the room and relaxed for a bit, until it was time to PARTY! Jordan and I went out for the first time in Williamsburg, Brooklyn. We took a new subway line, so we got lost quite a bit trying to figure out where it was. Our first stop was to the Barcade, which was a bar with arcade games inside. It was a pretty neat place, but you could tell it was full of nerdy, “video game loving,” hipsters. Ha, I did not know how to put it any nicer. While we were there, I occasionally sipped on a beer (SURPRISED? I KNOW!) and met a guy, who is a DJ and has his own gig in a couple of weeks. Since Barcade did not have any dancing, Jordan and I walked to another bar called Ooba. We had a really weird experience inside this one. We asked a lady to take our picture, and then she had asked us to take a picture with her son, in return. And then she kissed us on the cheek. We did not stay for too long before heading to our final stop, Marcy Park. This bar was the most fun out of the three. However, our feet were dying from walking around all night in our heels, so we left around 3 a.m. to head back to our place. Throughout the night we met so many fun, nice and interesting people. New York is full of a lot of spontaneous people and things. There is never a dull moment, which is why I feel like I fit in so well. Jordan and I witnessed our first subway rat tonight. It was quite disturbing. Once I got home, I headed straight to my bed and hit the sack. I think the balls of my feet are going to be bruised in the morning. Ouch!

Leave a Reply

